Youthful Aging

Why do we say, “Thank you,” when someone says we look young for our age?

Oh, excuse me, I’m so sorry.  I do apologize for looking my age.  My bad.  I should be better able to fend off pesky reality and appear to be 33 for all eternity.  If I had any gumption, or genuine aptitude, I could be less visibly aged.

Having said that,  I do love it when someone tells me I look young.  So, why is that?  Maybe because some of it is up to me.   If I make an effort to stand up straight and eat good food (a subject near and dear to my heart), and dance and sing and jump around even when I feel like slouching and announcing to anyone who is within earshot what a drag it is getting old, well then I can take some bit of pride in not looking painfully old in some quirky way.

But, I do think we might need to quit being sorry for aging because in reality we are the lucky ones, the ones who get to grow old and see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

