Eat to Live

Image

Okay, this has no poetic leanings, but I’m just going to say it:  28 pounds.  I have lost 28 pounds!!!! ………as of today.

So this “eat to live” motif I have been pursuing for the last two years or so seems to be working.  And if so, I will eventually lose another 10 pounds or so and then probably hold there— that’s the weight I was in my mid twenties, probably a good indication of where I should be.  I was quite short in my mid-twenties (about 4’11” and 3/4) and I have not gotten any taller, so apparently the food is the thing that’s changed.

I only wonder why it took me so long to figure out that eating this way is more nutritious and conducive to getting or staying at a healthier weight and I FEEL GOOD.  Lots of incidental and not so incidental health benefits accrue as I go along at a slow and steady pace.

I know people can say they ate nothing but bacon and cheese and lost 50 pounds (I’ve tried something similar in the past and lost weight, then gained it back), but are they being nourished and feeling good?  Or do they just weigh less?  There’s a great difference.

I’ve been taking a yoga class, too, and trying to meditate because I still have decades of neurological pathways dedicated to worrying.  When I stick to one regular cup of coffee a day, that seems to help cut down on the tendency to think too much about something that isn’t even happening.

‘kay.  Enough about me.  How are you doing?  You.  Speak up.  I’m listening.

2 responses to “Eat to Live

  1. congratulations…I too am on the same path and also wonder why it took me so long to figure it out. still at 2 cups of coffee though. something i love to listen to is: http://www.soundhealingcenter.com/, i’m finding it great for the meditation part of this journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

