Abundance

Is it always necessary to produce something each moment?  Or to be singing or dancing or playing or drinking?  Or contributing to society?  I wonder this when I hear people comment that they will sleep when they are dead (and I have heard or read this comment on a number of occasions).  What would they do instead of sleep?  Non-stop party?  Non-stop sex?  Non-stop travel?  Non-stop charity?  Why not sleep?  Is everything they do so critically important or incredibly fun?  Every moment jam-packed with thrills?  This is not me being sarcastic; I am genuinely interested.

I don’t even want to do anything that feels really good all night long! I feel like I must be missing out on life when I hear that comment since sometimes I just relax.  Sit outside in the shade or the sun and bask.  And even when I have some essential work to do, I’d rather not do that for twenty-four hours IN A ROW!

Maybe I’m not important enough to need to be awake all day and all night.  Maybe I am obtuse.  Or maybe some people are delusional.  I don’t really know.  I don’t.

I did not have to report for jury duty today (during my week off, no less) so instead, what have I done?

In no particular order:

-Yoga

-Cleaned the kitchen, put on a fresh table-cloth, ironed it, picked some dill to put in a vase on the aforementioned kitchen table.

-Pulled some weeds,

-Shopped a little at Old Navy but didn’t buy anything

-Had coffee at Water Street Coffee Joint with my husband, happily greeted a friend there, chatted a bit

-Made a good lunch:  a sandwich on the aforementioned rye bread, with                mushrooms and green, red and orange peppers that I  sautéed in water with salt and pepper, added vegan-mayo, mustard, lettuce and homemade pickle, and fresh tomato from our garden, forgot to include onion; it was delicious anyway.

-Managed to work the word, aforementioned, into a blog at least three times.

-Didn’t plan a day-trip due to the possibility of jury duty so sat outside in the shady-sun and wondered if I really should be doing something meaningful every moment.                                                                                                                                    Maybe it’s all meaningful after all.  Life is what it is. Moment to moment.  Possibly including IMG_1595those moments that do not involve contributing something to society.                                                                        “Tension is who you think you should be. Relaxation is who you are.” Chinese Proverb


One response to “Abundance

  1. I just re-read this. And I still relate to what I said here. But what “aforementioned rye bread?” I didn’t even mention it afore (which is not a real word, apparently).

    Like

Leave a Reply

