From Six Years Ago On a Blog Far From Here

If you see a fork in the road, take it…………….

I was just about to explain the “plateau” effect that most diets lead to – so gather round.Anybody?Bueller?

This is where you lose a few pounds and then hit a wall and just can’t seem to lose any more weight. I cannot guarantee that this won’t happen to you on this “not a diet” plan, but I can guarantee that it might not happen. I don’t really know yet because I have not been at it long enough to see whether or not it will happen. I think it won’t happen because I am going with the theory that if you actually get into the pattern of eating less than you used to eat, and if you eat real food and good food for most of your meals, you will achieve an optimum weight because that’s what happens when you are very aware, attentive, and mindful of what you are eating. You may be asking yourself, by what authority does she make this statements, and to that I would say:  I actually have no authority, just opinions, it would seem.

Oh, as to exercise. When you read about it in most books, the suggestion is that you “work-out” three to five times a week for an hour, and include aerobic stuff and strength training, run a marathon, join a health club (and actually go to it) – you know, outlandish stuff like that. Now, I’m not gonna’ lie to you. You probably are supposed to do things like that in order to achieve optimal health and to tone up and feel better. I’m not going to suggest you don’t engage in such activities. What I am going to suggest is that you start out by doing something, anything, that encourages you to move more than you currently do.

It seems inconceivable to me that the choices are to work out for an hour a day or do nothing – and that anything in between is unhelpful. My Mom, for instance, started walking a mile a day a few years ago, and now we don’t know where the hell she is. (That just is not true.) Seriously, I started walking a mile a day and my blood pressure went down and my mood went up. It works. And I’m not suggesting any crazy walking – you know, like that pretentious power walking, or walking with weights a.k.a. soup cans, or walking while swinging your arms at crazy angles, or doing some wiggly jogging-walking combo thing while keeping your elbows crooked and your wrists limp, or walking quickly while hula-hooping. (Any more than I’d suggest riding a large tricycle while wearing some kind of awful helmet with a lightening bolt stenciled on it.) You’ll just make yourself an object of ridicule. But I digress.

Here’s the idea: If you don’t take walks at all, take one. Even if it’s just getting up from your desk more often or walking to the mailbox, or walking into the bank or into a restaurant instead of using the drive thru. Then gradually add more and more moves — if you tell yourself you must walk or run five miles or it won’t count, than you might choose to do nothing and then you’re stuck. Start where you are. If you already walk a mile a day then, add some other movement. It could be you will want to do more if you don’t pressure yourself to follow unrealistic plans. You’ll feel better. I’m pretty sure about that. Check with your doctor before walking into the bank instead of using the drive thru as any changes in activity or diet might need doctor approval if you have some situation I don’t know anything about. All the books say that, honestly. I read one that recommended eating more blueberries and other fruits and then cautioned the reader to check with the doctor first. Really? For blueberries?

It seems that exercise does not ensure weight loss. It could be fun or healthy or possibly even necessary, but it won’t ensure weight loss. Eating less food and/or real food will ensure weight loss. This isn’t just me talking. It’s science. Oh, wait, it is just me talking, but it’s possible that it’s science, too.

I’ve heard that metabolism does affect ability to lose weight, but only within about ten pounds or so unless you have a serious metabolic disorder. I don’t know if this is true, but if ten pounds were my problem, I would not really have a problem now would I? So metabolism be damned – I will achieve a weight that is more acceptable to me. For me, this means I shall not waddle. I mean it – it just makes me mad to think that would be my fate. I draw the line here. _______________________________________________ See that?

—Okay, I drew the line. It’s out there.

Point to ponder: If you see a fork in the road, take it. What does this mean?

I will stop for now because I would like to go get something to eat. I know what you’re thinking: It’s after 10:00 pm and you’re not supposed to eat after so late at night . That, my friend, is conventional wisdom and if I am anything, I am not conventional. I don’t go in for that stuff. You know, no food after 7, no white food after labor day, that kind of thing. It depends what you’ve eaten all day long. If you tend to get heartburn, don’t eat too late in the evening — and seriously, I’m not talking about eating ginormous amounts of food, for crying out loud. If you’ve eaten enough already, then don’t eat after 7 pm, but if, as in my case, you have not, then have a small bowl of Kix with a little bit of banana in it. And be sure the bowl is blue. No, wait, pink. Pink or white, you choose. Or blue. I think blue would really be the way to go.

 

Leave a Reply

