Christmas Past

December 26, 2010
Comfort or Joy
Second chances
Second guesses
Second hand
Second grade
Second rate

I second guess myself and over-analyze. How to stop? Stop.
Remind your second-guessing brain that enough is enough and even if you weren’t great, the best or even okay it’s okay and you are in there trying, and that is good enough. Make friends with good enough.

Ayn Rand and the Catholic proselytizers (not necessarily in that order)
got me way too fixated on perfection.
Let it be what it is. Perfection is not even a reasonable goal for brilliant people, never mind, me.
Since I have a predilection to worry and fret, that is what I usually do.
I would like to find a way replace that predilection with something that feels better
When I worry and even wonder excessively about what will happen, what already did, or what I should or shouldn’t say, it provides no comfort or joy.

Sometimes I begin to understand that whatever happens, I will manage. I will fear no man or woman and I will remember that my intentions are good and my work is verifiable. And if that is not enough, I can move on. Whatever happens, I can be pretty damn happy. As Abraham Lincoln once said, “A man is just about as happy as he makes his mind up to be.”

and further remember:
Only Art Van can bring you the ultimate winter close-out sale,
and only God can make a tree

Happy Boxing Day!
IMG_1867
4 responses to “Christmas Past

  1. This is good advice and you should follow it!

    Like

  2. Loved this Robin… you have brought me “comfort and joy”… and I thank you. Hope your weekend is most beautiful…
    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

