The Incidents of Aging

Still goes.

robinbenjamin4

The physics of it all have had their way with me

I notice in the mirror and the photos that I see

What the hell is that?

What happened to my face?

My hands look like my Mother’s

I see it’s now a race

to see who ages first

to see who ages best

But I’m learning to accept it

along with all the rest

It’s not a cause for shame

It’s not a cause for blame

The lines and sags are signs of life

I gratefully concede

the price we pay for living long

for living strong

for living without greed

I’d rather take it gracefully

if you would ask

than end up like a static, plastic,

sad and desperate mask

Image

View original post

Leave a Reply

