Make It Easy on Yourself

It does take more effort to eat real food and prepare it at home.  All the chopping and cleaning and peeling and crunching and planning and shopping can be good therapy but sometimes enough is enough and maybe a person needs a break, already.

When you reach that point, it doesn’t always mean you have to rush out to a restaurant.  Which is good, because while I try to eat nutrient-dense food because I feel so much better, it also leads to me weighing less than I did so…….what was my point?

OH, right, restaurants.  I love eating out but that’s when I tend to gain weight because there is fat, sugar and I don’t even know what else in so much of what you get in a restaurant – – no matter how carefully you order.  So I like to have some really simple meals sometimes as a way to eat well without all the effort and without eating out or eating ersatz, prepackaged stuff.

And that’s why I’m suggesting this idea for a quick meal.  We bought a jar of organic marinara sauce from Aldi’s (by Simply Nature — for $1.89!); it is low in sugar and low-ish in salt and delicious.  We threw in a little fresh basil and a cut-up zucchini, cooked up some pasta (gluten-free for me; whole wheat for him) and there you have it – a light and easy entree.  We had some leaf lettuce from the garden so that served as a quick salad.

 

 

Leave a Reply

