A Recipe and a Recommendation

I was feeling a little down………. so I made soup.  It seems to be a sure way to improve the mood.  I recommend it.

Using a 2 quart pot, I splashed in a half cup or so of vegetable broth.  Added in (rough-cut):  small onion, a stalk of celery (with some celery leaves), one large carrot, 2 medium potatoes, a stalk of bok choy, and one fresh tomato (from our garden–happy day).  I let each vegetable simmer while I cut up the remaining vegetables and added them in one at a time in the order given.

I sprinkled in some dried:  basil, oregano, onion powder, garlic powder, parsley flakes and cayenne pepper, salt and black pepper.  About a half teaspoon of each if I had to make a guess but probably more like an eighth of a teaspoon of the cayenne for my taste).  Then I pressed a large clove of fresh garlic and stirred it into the mix.

I gradually added in more vegetable broth for a total of about a quart.  Then I threw in a 15 ounce can of organic Cannellini beans — liquid and all.

This is really just to give an idea of how to come up with a quick and easy and delicious vegetable soup.  You can add in (or leave out) anything you like (or don’t like).

Ingredient list:

Onion

Carrot

Celery

Tomato

Potato

Bok Choy

Cannellini beans

Garlic clove

Basil, Oregeno, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Cayenne Pepper, Parsley Flakes, Salt, Black Pepper

 

Leave a Reply

